Hey, I need to say sorry for being a little AWOL the last couple of weeks.

It’s not that I had nothing to say, just I was unable to say it.

OK, if you haven’t read my bio then you’re probably thinking this is weird…

Don’t worry I’m not nuts (well OK, maybe a little but if we’re being honest we all are 🙂 ), if you just bear with me you’ll understand why I was AWOL & also what you can do to overcome excruciating back pain.

But first I’m going to roll back the clock a little.

scared to sneeze - oils for pain.pngI was born with a curved spine and twisted pelvis (as well as some other very unpleasant issues such as my skin blistering as soon as the sun hit…).

When I was little I was in braces to help me stand upright (my mum described me as walking like a chimp).

There are pictures of me in some old medical texts (although I couldn’t show you them as my name was kept out of it- there goes my claim to fame!), because it was just so weird.

There’s also a distinct lack of photo’s in our family albums of me until I was older …

Anyway, the issues with my back and pelvis meant that I would have weeks of excruciating pain. Being unable to move let alone walk.

You see, my back would spasm & lock and then any attempt at sitting, lying, standing, moving… basically trying to do anything hurt. Finding a position which enabled me to be still without pain was near impossible. It was always about which was least painful.

Because my mums a nurse (and a very good one) she knew that by keeping my back muscles strong, my spine would be stretched and supported meaning less incidences of spasm.

So, as a child I was a gymnast, athlete, and sports fanatic.

I loved gymnastics and passed my level 6 BAGA (not bad for a girl with a wonky body hey?).

However, when we moved school (which happened a lot in the RAF) and relocated up north there was no gymnastics. I still played sports but my back started to play up again and I was back to having bi-yearly spasms.

Now, these spasms were’t just twinges. First it would feel like I’d had electrical current shoot through my back, then it would seize and then the real pain would start. It would take a minimum of 2 weeks for me to get moving around again.

The pain never went either. There was always this dull ache – like having a constant headache.

You just get used to it.

Anyway, as the years passed like most teenagers I stopped doing sport & things got really bad.

I even missed a couple of AS exams because I was bedridden.

When I started working I saved up and paid for a course of osteotherapy.

This helped a lot.

The pain didn’t go away, the spasms didn’t stop but somehow my back felt better.

The great thing is I would then go maybe 12 months in between being stuck.

The aches between spasms was definitely reduced – but it was still there.

In 2012 whilst working as a store manager for a fast fashion retailer my back seized on the shop floor.

I mean – seriously! Of all the places to get stuck (well trust me this wasn’t the worst place but it was pretty embarrassing). The paramedics were called out & armed with a tank of gas and air after 30 minutes and some seriously strong medication I was able to move.

I had to get home quick before everything wore off and get myself comfortable ready for the pain to return.

Thankfully, this time it was only a 10 day bed bound situation.

For me, the real problem was the drugs I was taking for the pain.

  1. they never really removed the pain
  2. they used to make me vomit (and if you can recall being sick you know that engages your back muscles so lead to more pain & more spasms)
  3. they used to make me hallucinate

I just really hated them – but what was the alternative?

Don’t worry, we’ll get there.

So, fast forward a few years and it’s Wednesday 8th March 2017.

I’m up and about putting the dishes away & folding the clothes whilst having a morning cup of tea with my partner before he goes to work.

I sneeze.

Boom – back seizes.

I grab the dresser to stop myself crumbling completely.

Boom – it locks.

Now I’m stood, in complete agony, unable to move hugging the dresser in a squat position.

I mean as if this is ever going to be comfortable.

Matt tries to get me upright but I just cant do it.

He goes to rush upstairs for the pills.

I shout – no get the clove!

He looks at me, rolls his eyes and grabs the bottle of clove essential oil and the fractionated coconut.

He rubs 2 drops onto each of my wrists as it’s the only part of my body he can get to.

10 minutes later I’m upright & in bed in a position which will allow me to roll over, get out & hobble to the loo when I need to.

Over the next few hours I interweave more oils into the mix; rosemary, marjoram, lavender, peppermint, eucalyptus & frankincense.

  • Rosemary – super anti-inflammatory & super analgesic
  • Marjoram – anti-spasmodic & analgesic
  • Lavender, peppermint & eucalyptus together have the same pain relieving effects as morphine*
  • Frankincense – oil enhancer & super anti-inflammatory
  • Clove – anti-rheumatic

By the end of the day I was up and out of bed sitting on the sofa catching up on my naughty little treats (made in Chelsea, ladies of London & dance moms – when you’re ill watching anything that makes you think is just silly).

Day 2 & 3 were much the same. As my back was slowly recovering and the pain subsiding I managed to catch up completely on a load of TV shows (something I usually only do 1-2 hours a night).

By day 4 I was back in the office although only for half a day.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my chair & my job but it was just so uncomfortable it really wasn’t worth risking it.

Then it was the weekend & I could chill out without feeling guilty.

Well, in actual fact we had a million house guests on the Sunday so I was baking bread and cakes whilst watching TV 🙂

Then it was back to work & catching up with the gazillion things I had not been able to do the week before plus I had loads of workshops leaving me out of the house and away from my blog.

The week after well – I had a holiday week.

So, there it is.

You were abandoned so I could watch TV.

Now, you may be thinking well it still took a long time to recover & be pain free.

Yes, this time being out for 3 days was ages.

The problem was the way in which it happend.

I sneezed.

I have a cold (it’s just about on it’s last legs at the minute).

Meaning, I kept sneezing & messing it up all over again!

Last time it went in October 2015 I was only in pain/hauled up in bed for half a day. On day 2 last time I was walking the dogs & back at work with no worries.

& you have to admit – even 3 days is much better than 10.

Plus when I’m out of spasm then there’s no pain.

No dull ache like a headache.

I’m literally pain free.

Something which I thought was impossible.

But then again impossible is simply ‘I’m possible’ when you add the spaces.

Have a great weekend & I’ll be back with you helping you get to grips with using essential oils to enhance your life from next week.

Best wishes, Katie.

p.s. if you’re open to learning how essential oils can support your wellness in a whole host of different ways then click the link below & grab yourself a free mini-wellness consultation on me.

>>FREE Mini-Wellness Consultation<<

DISCLAIMER:

  1. It’s important to seek the advice of a professional before embarking on a new health regime.
  2. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.
  3. This website is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
  4. Essential Oils are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease
  5. Not all essential oils are of the same quality and it’s important you check with your oil brand whether you can use your oils aromatically (A), topically (T) and/or internally (I).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

