Haha! As if I’m going to tell you how much I lost in the title!

That would be cheating 🙂

I have to say though I was very surprised when I stepped on the scales this morning (especially after the detox took a little bit of a battering the last few days…)

Before, I jump into what I did I’m going to explain why.

I’ve been a stone (and a bit) overweight for about 3 years and half-heartedly trying to loose the weight.

Nothing I was doing was working.

Mainly because I just wasn’t doing the work!

But, I genuinely didn’t know where to start or what to do.

Then I watched that how to loose weight well programme on channel 4 and they were getting some of their participants to do a 10 day detox/diet.

I thought what the heck – I’m sure I can do something for 10 days.

I’m not going to lie to you.

weight-loss-didnt-want-to-fartI did none of their diets.

I thought they were just plain stupid (and to be fair so did they I think).

I didn’t want to loose loads of water, go back to eating normally & put everything back on again.

& I definitely did not want to smell funny, fart loads, have headaches or be lethargic.

Working in mental health I understand the dangers of not fueling your body & mind properly – even if it’s only for a few days!

So, I cheated (not that this is going to surprise you in the slightest as it is a running theme through many of my blog posts!).

I harnessed the goodness of essential oils, food supplements, and protein shakes.

I went vegetarian for 9 days (I’ll get to why it was 9 not 10 in a moment…).

I had two different daily routines; 1 for without exercise and 1 for with exercise.

Without exercise*

My daily calorie intake was less than 500 (1* protein shake for breakfast, a banana as a snack, 1* protein shake for lunch, an apple as a snack & an evening meal). I also took 4 drops of a detoxifying essential oil blend in a capsule with breakfast and then 6 drops of a metabolic essential oil blend in a capsule with my lunch & dinner.

Now the thing I was most amazed with is that because I was getting all the nutrients my body needed from the food supplements, protein shakes and my evening meal I genuinely didn’t feel hungry, have any headaches, smell, or fart like a trooper (this has always been my ‘fear’ of detoxing)!

*I say without but as part of my daily routine I always walk the dogs for 35 mins & do yoga for 15 mins. I’ve been doing this forever so my body is used to it & it no longer thinks of it as exercise 😦 Luckily for you, if you don’t currently do this you won’t need to!

With exercise:

The main routine was the same as the ‘without exercise’ day except I’d have 1,000 calories. So would have a larger meal before the gym and some fish afterwards (either basa or tuna).

The dreaded ‘gym’

I have to say I loved being back at the gym.

Getting on the arc trainer (like a cross trainer but a different leg movement) for 20 minutes, going round all the machines, and then sitting on a bike for 10 minutes.

This little routine took about 45 minutes and I burned between 300 & 400 calories a session & I went 3 times (because of how the days fell).

But, I really wasn’t going ‘hard’.

weight loss - didnt work hard enough.pngI never even ached the next day.

Which was slightly disappointing because I was ready to put the aches & pain oils to the test…

Maybe, I should have worked harder!

Or maybe not because in just 10 days I lost 5lbs.

Now, you may be thinking well that’s not very much.

Especially as I had lost 4lbs by day 6.

I know, I was a little gutted myself.

But here’s what happened –

On day 6 I ended up getting ill (there was a stupid virus going round), I felt sorry for myself and my ‘non exercise’ day wen’t out the window.

I had crisps, chocolates and rubbish.

Thoroughly gutted with myself on day 7 I recommitted.

Then day 9 hit.

My sister went into labour (3 days early), I ended up doing some emergency auntying & rushed over their house first thing without breakfast so had toast & everyone knows you can’t just have 1 slice of toast…

Next, on the days roster was filling in for my sister at my nephews school and taking part in the ‘parent – child’ lunchtime meal.

I had a cheese pastry with gravy, roast potatoes and veg.

Oh, and the jam biscuit because I couldn’t let the little tyke down!

Determined to get myself back on track for the rest of the day I headed into work after lunch.

Then it hit 5pm.

My mum rings…

“Will you come with me to visit your sister?”

I was supposed to be going to the gym.

I couldn’t say no because it’s not like babies are born every day in my family.

This isn’t the worst of it.

On the way home I had battered sausage and chips for dinner.

I know.

It was only 10 days & I failed!

Even though I ‘failed’, I’m still super impressed with my day 1-6 effort & weight loss!

I’ve only got 12lbs to go to get to my target weight & I know if I just stick to the routine it will happen.

So, if you want to know how to kick-start your weight-loss without all the negative side effects associated with traditional detoxes click the link below & fill in the free mini health consultation & I’ll personally respond to you with the list of products I used and things which may be of use to your specific health goals.

>>FREE Mini-Wellness Consultation<<

Have a great Thursday & happy oiling!

Best wishes Katie.

DISCLAIMER:

  1. It’s important to seek the advice of a professional before embarking on a new health regime.
  2. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.
  3. This website is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
  4. Essential Oils are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease
  5. Not all essential oils are of the same quality and it’s important you check with your oil brand whether you can use your oils aromatically (A), topically (T) and/or internally (I).

 

Leave a Reply

