Before we start a little apology… so sorry for the delay in getting this out to you… For some reason it didn’t schedule 😦 today’s post will come out tomorrow so you’re not bombarded!

OMG geranium is strong. & I mean the smell is knock your socks off, amazeballs, strong.

It definitely does not smell like my mums flowers used to :/

But, that doesn’t stop it being super awesome.

Plus, it’s just something to be aware of – if you’re serious about using essential oils to have amazing health & crack open the 100% pure oils then be prepared.

There is a lot of goodness in the bottles.

Hence the rule – less is more!

Now, why on earth would you want a bottle of geranium in your box of tricks?

Geranium is:

geranium-not-gardeners-question-timeWell geranium is a flower which is also known as ‘cranesbill'(which really doesn’t roll off your tongue) but is because of the shape of some of the species which look like crane’s bills… Us English are ever so simple aren’t we!

Now, the flowers come in all shapes and sizes and will pretty much grow anywhere that does not have waterlogged soil. So, if you’re after some flowers for your garden that are pretty hardy – go with a geranium.

Please know I am completely aware this is not an audition for gardeners question time & I’ll be moving onto what you can use the oil for now 🙂

All the A’s:

  • Antibacterial
  • Anticonvilsant
  • Antidepressant
  • Anti-inflammatory
  • Antiseptic
  • Astringent
  • Diuretic
  • Insect Repellent
  • Sedative
  • Tonic

What can I use it for?

  • Calming (A, T),
  • Diarrhea (T)
  • Dry Hair (T)
  • Dry Skin (T)
  • Environmental Stress (A, T)
  • Insomnia (A, T)
  • Low Libido (T)
  • Osteoarthritis (T)
  • Osteoporosis (T)
  • Pelvic Pain Syndrome (T)
  • Physical Stress (A,T)
  • Sensitive Skin (T)
  • Vertigo (T)
  • Wrinkles (T)

How do I use it?

[aromatically (A), topically (T) & internally (I)]

To be honest this isn’t one I use internally although you can if you really want to (remember to check for the ‘supplement facts’ label on your own bottle of oil). I have tried it ‘neat’ just to see what it tasted like & you guessed it – it tasted like flowers…

But, I absolutely do use it for my skin. I use both this and Patchouli along with some coconut oil morning & night to keep my face looking fresh, smooth, and silky.

geranium - low labido.pngEven though I mentioned the smell right at the beginning it really doesn’t last that long when it’s on your skin. If you get it on your clothes or in your hair then you’ll be able to smell it all day. It’s quite pleasant & one of the scents I like having on a scarf if I’ve got to do something that’s pushing me out of my comfort zone.

Whether or not I’ve used it to ramp up what’s going on in the bedroom I’m afraid will definitely be staying firmly under wraps – but you’re more than welcome to give it a try & let me know how it goes 😉

I definitely recommend itto help you chill out and relax if life is trying to wind you up. Having it diffusing enables you to just chill out, relax and get back to being super happy to be alive again while also having a freshly smelling house (or office!).

Hope this inspires you to whip open the geranium next time & test it out?!

Happy oiling & I’ll be back soon –

Katie x

p.s. If you’re open to learning how to use essential oils to do loads of other neat things and support your body and mind with everything it gets up to then click the link below to go to a free mini-wellness consult

>>FREE Mini-Wellness Consultation<<

DISCLAIMER:

  1. It’s important to seek the advice of a professional before embarking on a new health regime.
  2. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.
  3. This website is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
  4. Essential Oils are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease
  5. Not all essential oils are of the same quality and it’s important you check with your oil brand whether you can use your oils aromatically (A), topically (T) and/or internally (I).
2 thoughts on “Essential Oil Close Up: Geranium

Leave a Reply

