If you’re suffering from a case of sniffles right now then this oil is definitely one you’re gonna want to have in your cupboard.

But, like all the other oils this one does so much more (and a lot more than making koala’s high as well if you’ve already heard that story!)

Eucalyptus - tree guzzling swamp water.pngThere are more than 700 types of eucalyptus tree and pretty much all of them are native to Australia (hence the high Koala’s). The trees produce a compound which stop other plants growing near by, and guzzle water at such a rate they can be used to reduce malaria by sucking up all the water from swamps!

While the tree is pretty awesome all by itself let’s get onto just how great the oil is and why else you want it other than for the occasional runny nose.

All the A’s:

  • Analgesic
  • Antibacterial
  • Anticatarrhal
  • Anti-infectious
  • Anti-inflammatory
  • Anti-viral
  • Insecticidal
  • Expectorant (something that brings mucus and other gunk from the lungs, bronchi and trachea)

What’s it used for?

  • Asthma (T, A)
  • Bronchitis (T, A)
  • Congestion (T, A)
  • Cooling (T, A)
  • Coughs (T, A)
  • Diabetes (T, A)
  • Disinfectant (A)
  • Ear Inflammation (T)
  • Expectorant (T, A)
  • Fever (T)
  • Flu (T, A)
  • Inflammation (T)
  • Lice (T)
  • Over-exercised Muscles (T, A)
  • Pain (T)
  • Pneumonia (T, A)
  • Sinusitis (T, A)
  • Tennis Elbow (T)

How do you use it?

As you can tell from all the T’s and A’s listed above this is one which cannot be taken Eucalyptus - snot running down my face.pnginternally. It tends to be mild on the skin so there shouldn’t be any sensitivities but if you’ve not used if before keep your coconut oil close by.

I used it all last year for my hayfever by putting a drop on my dressing gown (when in the house), and on my scarf when out and about. Having it diffusing overnight meant that I didn’t wake up through the night with snot dribbling down my face. It also meant I didn’t wake up to a bloody nose (something which used to happen regularly in the summer) because of my nose drying out/being irritated from all the blowing I would usually do.

I’ve also recently added it to my aches and pain rollerball because of the anti-inflammatory properties & it has definitely kicked it up a notch.

I can’t say I’ve ever used it on my over-exercised muscles – mainly because I haven’t done anything to over-exercise them. Don’t get me wrong a 45 minute dog walk and 15 minutes of yoga happen most days but they are definitely on the gentle side of the exercise regime! I do however, need to step it up a notch so I can step out of all the stretchy pants and back into my more fitted trousers so I’ll give it a go & get back to you!

Thankfully I haven’t had to deal with anything else on the list so you’ll just have to have a go and let me know how you get on.

Happy oiling & have a fabulous rest of your Tuesday.

Don’t forget to come back Thursday & find out how you can use essential oils to curb those sugar cravings.

Catch you then –

Katie x

p.s. If you’re open to learning how to use essential oils to do loads of other neat things and support your body and mind with everything it gets up to then click the link below to go to a free mini-wellness consult

>>FREE Mini-Wellness Consultation<<

DISCLAIMER:

  1. It’s important to seek the advice of a professional before embarking on a new health regime.
  2. These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.
  3. This website is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
  4. Essential Oils are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease
  5. Not all essential oils are of the same quality and it’s important you check with your oil brand whether you can use your oils aromatically (A), topically (T) and/or internally (I).

 

Leave a Reply

