via Daily Prompt: Successful

“Try not to become a person of success, but rather try to become a person of value.”

Albert Einstein

This quote by Albert Einstein completely sums up how I feel about success.

Working with people who have severe mental health difficulties, or chronic physical illnesses really changes the way you perceive the word ‘success’.

for-many-of-the-people-i-work-with-success-constitutes-simply-showing-up-in-the-world-one-day-at-a-timeFor many of the people I work with – success constitutes simply showing up in the world one day at a time.

But, rather than seeing this as successful because of the distorted view society has on success i.e., only when you look at your bank balance and see multiple figures (without the minus sign in front of it…), or when you have the happy 2.4 family or when you have found ‘the one’…

The funny thing is that anyone chasing this type of success will undoubtedly be seriously disappointed.

It’s the same as a dog chasing it’s tail.

Why?

Success is a state of mind and not a state of having.

You are already successful because you are alive.

Every time you ‘achieve’ success you have to start all over again and find something else to make you more successful or to fill the void you thought would be filled by what you have just achieved.

As I sit writing this my partner is watching the snooker, my two dogs are chomping away at some giant bones they had for Christmas (pretty sure my dad dug up a dinosaur they’re that huge), I don’t have multiple figures in the bank or children running around and yet in my heart and soul I know I am successful because every time I look up from the laptop I feel at peace.

I know that when I am dedicating my time to working I am making a difference.

Maybe in just one persons life, maybe in more than one, and some days very probably just my own.

But, because I come from a place of peace and love I add value to the world.

Trust me this is not solely because of what I do (in no way do I see what I do more in-my-mind-no-matter-what-you-do-no-matter-what-you-have-when-you-come-from-a-place-of-love-peace-you-add-valueimportant than someone else), it is because what I do, I do with soul.

When I am working every fibre of my being is dedicated to changing the world in a positive way.

In my mind, no matter what you do, no matter what you have, when you come from a place of love & peace, you add value and only then are you truly successful.

Have a fabulous Sunday x Katie x

One thought on “Chasing success is the same as a dog chasing its tail…

Leave a Reply

